A Weary Soul


Got a myriad of thoughts at the top of my mind, Feeling low, a bit depressed, emotions entwined.

Contemplating when everything will feel more than okay, Not just managing but thriving in a better way.

Responsibilities pile up, a tight lid on control, Maintaining calm for those around, taking a toll.

Wishing I could break, let the tears flow, It bothers me that emotions don’t always show.

Concerns about the career’s sufficiency, Family claims time, relentless in its efficiency.

Juggling priorities, managing the baby at home, It feels overwhelming, questioning where I’ll roam.

Not ready for children, though I see their joy, Wondering if selfishness will my future employ.

Weight on my shoulders, a career dilemma unfolds, Opt for stability or be a bit more bold.

Yearning for it all — family, love, and career, An ambitious quest that’s not entirely clear.

Compassion lacking, a desire for understanding, Just want someone to comprehend, not demanding.

Being labeled a critic and a pessimist, Afraid to take space, dismissed as a realist.

Yearning to contribute to the world’s array, But with too many things, it’s hard to find a way.

Reflecting on the easy road not taken, A stay-at-home mom, complaints awaken.

Online critique haunting, a doctor’s sacrifice, Will my choices face a similar vice?

Society’s pressure, expectations to fulfill, Curling up some days, yearning for a still.

Self-care or escape from responsibilities, In emergencies, no one asks about abilities.

Torture endured, seeking a caring touch, The noose tightens, the struggle is much.

Asking for a moment to comfort or save, Why not act without the plea I gave?

Finally, tears flow, a Pakistani woman’s plight, No bliss felt, too tired to fight.

Exhausted from competition and expectations, Questioning if I’ll ever meet my aspirations.

Bearing the burden of both work and culture, It’s hard to breathe, the pressure’s like a vulture.

Yearning for someone to understand, To walk a mile without a demand.

Moments of happiness, peace in return, Pushing too hard, wondering if I’ll burn.

Longing for simpler times, slower spins, Can’t rewind, trapped as time begins.

Wishing for moments of weakness embraced, Open arms for the overwhelmed, not erased.

Humans, be kind, it opens doors wide, Saves lives, be it in the heart or outside.

Pandemic thoughts, too pessimistic now, Wondering if this is my last bow.

Visions limited, faith has waned, Withering away, emotions strained.

Enough, pause, go to bed, Tomorrow brings a new thread.

Maybe gratitude will find its way, In the light of another day.

Keep going, my little girl, dream big, The world isn’t too large for the dreams you dig.

Seemingly cruel, it’ll be alright, For all you want to do, take flight.

Promise yourself, it’s gonna be okay, Just sway with me, my little bird, and stay.

No need to worry about judgments too much, Be free, find happiness, and stay in touch.

Nourish that child within, take a while, It’s gonna be okay, you’ll find your smile.

Leave a comment