Without the timbre

And cadence of my native language 

I feel lost

In a sea of people who 

wish to conform to superficial ideals

I wish to speak in a tongue 

That brings me closer 

To the ones that I love

To the land I was born in 

I wish to express the joy 

In sharing stories and 

Sharing woes

For language unites us all

I feel expressively distant 

From the culture and the roots 

That helped me grow 

I feel tethered to the land I’m in 

Only because I speak the same tongue

I wish I could express 

My diversity 

My compassion for my identity 

In a cadence 

In a timbre

That is all my own 

Hidden in the recesses of my parents pasts

And their struggles moving to a new land 

This compassion 

This identity I seek is 

Derived from my mother tongue 

Left behind on this new land 

Which is not truly my home 

For I have lost 

Understanding of my family 

My cousins and my grandmother 

Live at a distance 

And we only have faces 

To remind us of our ancestry 

I wish I could speak 

My native language 

I wish I had the accent 

Of a girl who has just arrived 

From the place she would have stayed 

When born 

But left because opportunity 

Seemed more inviting 

I never knew 

How much sacrifice 

And compromise this change 

Would make 

To my identity 

Leave a Reply

