I ambled toward

the back of the room

as I always had

never missing a beat

I imagined that

your gaze had never landed

on me.

Why would this

chance encounter

be one that could

spin me on my axis

make me feel as

light as a butterfly

make me feel as

though I could fly

towards the moon?

Maybe the boy

who looked curiously on

knew my dilemmas

But alas,

I guess the clock’s

timing is misguided

because in comes

a regal Queen

who intertwines

her hand

with his.

How could I

be so foolish as

to forget?

I was the ugly duckling.

Leave a Reply

